Who we are in Christ?

It really amazes me when I read only two verses in the Bible, but in those two verses, God reveals so much to me.

It happened when I read Luke 3: 21-22 in my devotion.

It was about:

John baptizes Jesus

Reflection: Jesus’ humility in letting John baptized him was for me an amazing example of how humble Jesus was. Although he was the Son of God, it did not hinder Him to do so.  It was I believe to show an example for us what we should do. To be baptized and repent for our sins. And the most important; to be humble.

Jesus went to a river and identified himself with those who were repenting of sin. And he later died for our sins.

In this passage, the Father, Holy Spirit, and Jesus were present. When I read what the Father said to Jesus “ You are my Son, whom I love; with you, I am well pleased, it gave me chill in my heart feeling that God is also saying it to me. “ Ligaya, (means Happy) you are my daughter; with you, I am well pleased. 

And what a privileged to have the Holy Spirit ascended to us too. Imagine having the Father, Holy Spirit in Jesus in us. Then we can do amazing things. It dawns on me that as a believer, we are capable of what God has called us too if we only can truly apprehend who we are in Christ.

I found these quotes from people who professed who they are in Christ.  

Quotes 

“Outside of Christ, I am weak; Inside of Christ I am strong.” Watchman Nee

“Who I am in Christ is amazing. Who Christ is in me is the real story. It is beyond amazing.”

“Our true identity is found when we stop being “who we are” and start being who we were created to be.”

“I am a daughter of the King, who is not moved by the world. For my, God is with me and goes before me. I do not fear because I am His.”

And in the bible, it said many things about who we are in Christ-like:

We are children of God

Galatians 3:26 “For you are all children of God through faith in Christ Jesus.”

In Christ, we will know true joy

John 15:11 “I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.”
We are blessed

 Ephesians 1:3 “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every spiritual blessing in Christ.”

 We are alive in Christ

Ephesians 2:4-5 “But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions–it is by grace you have been saved.”

We are someone who is deeply loved by God.

Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

 Romans 8:38-39 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

 We are seen as precious

 Isaiah 43:4 “Because you are precious in my eyes and honored, and I love you, I give men in return for you, peoples in exchange for your life.”

 We are the branches of the true vine.

John 15:1-5 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2 He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. 3 You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. 4 Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me? 5 “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.”

 We are understood by God

 Psalm 139:1 “For the director of music. Of David. A psalm. You have searched me, LORD, and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar.”

 Christians are heirs of God

 Romans 8:17 “Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ if indeed we share in his sufferings so that we may also share in his glory.”

We are an ambassador for Christ

 2 Corinthians 5:20 “Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God.”
We are God’s special possession

1 Peter 2:9-10 “But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light. Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.”

We are beautiful

 Song of Solomon 4:1 “How beautiful you are, my darling! Oh, how beautiful! Your eyes behind your veil are doves. Your hair is like a flock of goats descending from the hills of Gilead.”

 We were created in His image.

 Genesis 1:27 “So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.”

 We are a citizen of Heaven

 Philippians 3:20-21 “But we are citizens of heaven, where the Lord Jesus Christ lives. And we are eagerly waiting for him to return as our Savior. 21 He will take our weak mortal bodies and change them into glorious bodies like his own, using the same power with which he will bring everything under his control.”

We will judge angels

 1 Corinthians 6:3 “Do you not know that we will judge angels? How much more the things of this life!”
We are a friend of Christ

  1. John 15:15 “I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”

 We are strong because our strength comes from Christ.

 Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

 2 Corinthians 12:10 “That is why, for the sake of Christ, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

 We are a new creation in Christ. 

 2 Corinthians 5:17 “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

  1. Ephesians 4:24 “and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.”

 We are fearfully and wonderfully made

 Psalm 139:13-15 “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.”

We are redeemed

Galatians 3:13 “Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole.”

 The Lord supplies all of our needs

 Philippians 4:19 “But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”

Our past, present, and future sins are forgiven. 

Romans 3:23-24 “for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.”

  1. Romans 8:1 “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.”

In Christ, we are seen as a saint

  1. Corinthians 1:2 “To the church of God that is in Corinth, to those sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be saints together with all those who in every place call upon the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, both their Lord and ours.”

 We  are set apart 

 Jeremiah 1:5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I set you apart and appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

 Hebrews 10:10 “We have been set apart as holy because Jesus Christ did what God wanted him to do by sacrificing his body once and for all.”

 We are someone who has been set free

Ephesians 1:7 “We have been set free because of what Christ has done. Through his blood, our sins have been forgiven. We have been set free because God’s grace is so rich.”

We are the light of the world 

 Matthew 5:13-16 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot. You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead, they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

 We are complete in Christ 

 Colossians 2:10 “And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power.”

God has made us more than a conqueror

 Romans 8:37 “Yet in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.”

 We are the righteousness of God

 2 Corinthians 5:21 “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.”

 Our body is the temple of the Holy Spirit

 1 Corinthians 6:19 “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your bodies.”

We are chosen

  1. Ephesians 1:4-6 “For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight. In love, he predestined us for adoption to sonship through Jesus Christ, by his pleasure and will–to the praise of his glorious grace, which he has freely given us in the One he loves.

We are seated in heavenly places 

Ephesians 2:6 “And God raised us up with Christ and seated us with him in the heavenly realms in Christ Jesus.”

 We are God’s workmanship

 Ephesians 2:10 “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.”

 We have the mind of Christ 

1 Corinthians 2:16 “For who has understood the mind of the Lord to instruct him?” But we have the mind of Christ.”

 Christ lives in us

 Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

God is continually working in us to conform us into the image of Christ. 

Philippians 2:13 “For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.”

Prayer: Dear Jesus, I thank You for showing us what should one do to be forgiven. Repent, be baptized, and follow You. I thank You that through You we had become children of God. We are now new creations. Forgiven for our sins. We had been set free. Set apart. Righteous. A temple of the Holy Spirit. Salt and light in this world. In you, we are complete. We are conquerors.
With You, there will always be joy in our hearts no matter what we are going through. Thank You for all the blessings and for making us alive in You. For loving us with unconditional love. Although we had sinned against You, but for You, we are precious and worth dying for. You redeemed us from destruction.
I pray Lord that we will remain in You and not seek the world and all its glitters. Because there is more glitter in Your kingdom that awaits us.
We could not hide anything from You Oh God, so I pray that we will honor you with our thoughts and deeds.
I pray that we will act as Your ambassadors wherever we are. Thank You that no matter what happens, we can be secure that You will take care of us because we are Your special possessions. Amen
1 kommentar

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Obligatoriske felt er merket med *

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg