Give thanks

GIVE THANKS

I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart; I will tell of all Your wonderful deeds.  I will tell all your wonderful deeds. I will be glad and rejoice in You. I will sing praises of Your name, O Most High God. Psalm 9:1-2

Reflection:

How do I/ you thank God with all our hearts?

How do I/ You tell all God’s wonderful deeds?

How do I /you rejoice in God?

How do I/you sing praises to God’s name?

 

This verse implies giving thanks to the Lord with all my/ your heart. Being thankful to God I believe should be every moment in every believer’s heart. Not only when everything is alright, when I /you have everything that we need, when we have money to spend and buy what we want, when we have nice cars, houses, lots of clothes and all the material things that our heart craves. And that should not be half-hearted thanksgiving. It should be with all our heart.

In my life…I find that it easier for me to be thankful when everything is well. But in my difficult moments, I struggle to be thankful. But lately, God had shown in my difficulties that still I can be thankful. Thankful for being weak because he can make me strong. Thankful for lacking in wisdom and anything that I need, so that I can ask Him. Thankful that I can entrust Him with my present and my future and my loved ones. Thankful that I don’t need to be afraid because He goes with me. Thankful that in everything, there is a lesson to be learned. So, if I see that God can calm every storm and rough waters in my life, I will have peace and still can rejoice no matter how hard the storm hits. No matter how rough waters in my life seem to drown me. No matter how sick I am, I can rejoice because I am in God’s hands.

Telling about God’s wonderful deeds is not easy if I/ you only focus on the problems and difficulties in my/your life. But I believe that if I/you focus on what God had done; His Creations and by offering His Son to die for us, then it is more than enough to tell. The life of the bible heroes is another thing. They are living witnesses of God’s miracle works and faithfulness. Not to mention what God had done in my/your life.

 It is a reminder to me to tell others who is God to me and what he had done in my life not only in words but also in my deeds.

Praising God is not easy for me too. I don’t even like my voice when I am singing. Much so God. But I don’t have to sing, I can speak my praises to God. It should be my /your goal to praise God day in and day out.

Application: I will give thanks to God not only in good times but all the time. I will tell others of his good deeds in words and action. I will praise him with all my heart, soul, and spirit. I will pray for help to do everything and will thank God that whatever I lack, He will provide.

Prayer: Dear God, open our eyes every day to see what we can give thanks to You. Let us see things, people, and different situations as You do. Let us feel like You. Loving and merciful. Give us the wisdom to know Your will under troubles, hardships, persecution, lack, defeat, sickness, and challenges. I thank You that You promise not to leave us or forsake us so that we don’t need to be afraid. You are our Almighty God who stands with us. Our strong tower. A shield from the attacks of the evil one. Our Delight and joy in every circumstance. Our Savior and Lord and who provides, for us, who can heal any sickness and disease. A wise and good leader for us to follow. You are our everything, Lord. Apart from You we are lost. So, I thank You that You showed us the way, the truth, and the life. May we hold on to Your promises (Words) like our dear life. Like a treasure. May we walk with You, obey You, love You, and praise You every waking of the sun. Every moment of our lives Lord. I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

2 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Obligatoriske felt er merket med *

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg