In prison

 

Devotion for the day: 

Luke 3:19-20

This passage is about Herod putting John in prison because John rebuked him of all the evil things he had done.

 

Reflection: Rebuking those in power is very dangerous especially when that person is evil. I have problems enough to point to others of their wrongdoings thinking that they might get offended or find things that are not right in me. But John did that without hesitation. He was prisoned because of that, and I just wondered what John might had felt when he was in prison. Was he happy for doing what was right or was he sad because he had been robbed of his freedom? But anyway, in the last judgement, John will not be the one in danger, but Herod. I had no idea what the condition of prison cell was when John the Baptist was in jail. Maybe there were rats in there. A few ration of food that was not even eatable.  But in the Philippines though, it was very scary and in a bad condition. Unlike here in Norway that those in prison have a good condition and are provided with what their need and even attain education if they wanted to.

In reading this passage, the word PRISON captured my attention. Because being in jail is not anyone would wish to experience. But in reality, many are in prison without knowing it or does not want to go out from it. Prison of their own desires, theory or beliefs. Prison of their lustful feelings and of the enemy. Prison of drug abuse, gaming and alcoholism maybe. One can be a prisoner of anxiety, fear and doubt. It is natural actually to desire to be free. Free from sickness, from poverty, from tyrants, from unhealthy relationship, from addictions and so on.

 

In the Scriptures though there are a lot of bible verses that shows how to gain freedom for all things that human is in bondage like:

John 8:32
Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”
Romans 8:2
For in Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit of life set you free from the law of sin and death.
1 Corinthians 7:22
For he who was a slave when he was called by the Lord is the Lord’s freedman. Conversely, he who was a free man when he was called is Christ’s slave.

Galatians 5:1
It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not be encumbered once more by a yoke of slavery.

I was once in prison of sin, poverty, and desires that were not in line with God’s words. But now I am happy to be freed from all those things because I accepted Jesus Christ of forgiveness, righteousness, and salvation. And if I am getting tempted, God will provide a way if I put my trust in Him.

I might be still in the prison of sickness and pain right now, but I know that God is my healer and deliverer. He can do miracles in my life. I only need to trust.

Prayer: Dear God, I pray for me and my loved ones to be free indeed from whatever is imprisoning us. Wrong desires, wrong thoughts, and beliefs, and so on. I pray that we will desire Your desires and think Your thoughts. Walk in the path You are leading us and find joy in Your Kingdom. Thank You that You are walking with us in our life’s journey and with You, no prison can withhold us. I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Obligatoriske felt er merket med *

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg