No one can separate!

Reflection: In this verse, it says that no one can separate us from the love of Christ. No tribulation, distress, persecution, famine, nakedness, peril, or sword. Neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come.  Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

The apostle Paul who wrote this had encountered a lot as he said like a sheep for the slaughter. He was imprisoned, persecuted, whipped, and so on, but still, he said that those things did not separate him from the love of God.

I have wondered many times that if God loves us, “why do we need to suffer?” I am thinking that as a parent, I would not want my children to suffer and would do anything to make my children live a life free of pain. On the other hand, I am also thinking that a life with no pain and suffering would not do my children good in the long run. It would make them weak.  It reminds me of one of the passages in the bible:  

 James 1:2-3 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance…

In addition, If I, as a child of God, and my children would get all that we want, wouldn’t it make us spoiled brats? Maybe, we will not learn how to show sympathy for others who are suffering and rather look down on those who are not children of God. Being proud is not godly and it is not God’s will for anyone. Anyway, I believe that whatever happens, God has a reason, and everything is under His control.  Under his “love umbrella.”

Jesus’ life here on earth consists of teaching, helping, giving, caring, healing, suffering, and sacrificial offering. And if we are followers of Jesus Christ, why would we not expect to experience the same? Sounds not good?

But then again, Jesus said that he came so that we may have life abundantly. Does he mean our would-be life in heaven?

I believe though that no matter what kind of life or suffering we encounter here on earth; we don’t need to be afraid or give up on believing. As long as God is with us…we can have victory.

I am suffering because of chronic illness, and I had questioned God about my situation many times because it hinders me to do a lot of things like working, serving, and reaching others for Him. But how can I show that I trust God despite of my situation if question him?

My body is His temple anyway and I just need to put this body in His hands knowing that He has everything under control. And I can honestly say that I can still feel the love of God despite my situation. He shows me in many areas of my life. And I truly feel blessed in so many ways. He shows me also that I can still do things for him despite my situation. So, yes…nothing or no one can separate me from the love of Christ, and so do you if you believe.

Prayer:

Father God, thank You for the assurance that nothing or no one can separate us from Your love. In troubles, you will provide help. In hardship, you comfort us. If we experience persecution, you provide strength and boldness. Through you, we can overcome. No one can defeat you and as long as we are with you, we can be conquerors too. Thank You for Your love that surpasses all. In Jesus’ name, I give thanks. Amen

 

0 kommentarer

    Legg igjen en kommentar

    Obligatoriske felt er merket med *

    Takk for at du engasjerer deg i denne bloggen.
    Unngå personangrep og sjikane og prøv å holde en hyggelig tone selv om du skulle være uenig med noen.
    Husk at du er juridisk ansvarlig for alt du skriver på nett.

Siste innlegg